Accidentally Awesome

P1010198

Sometimes the very best things begin as accidents. Like tonight’s dinner. I planned to make Whole Living’s mushroom, spinach and scallion tart.

But, I didn’t have scallions on hand and forgot to defrost the phyllo dough. Ugh!

So, I improvised. I roasted the veggies I had in the fridge that needed to be eaten ASAP and gave the recipe my own little twist.

P1010194

Recipe: Vegetable Tartlets (adapted from Whole Living’s recipe)

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 head chopped organic cauliflower
  • 1 white chopped organic onion
  • 1 cup chopped organic kale
  • 2 cups chopped organic mushrooms
  • 4 oz. pastured goat cheese
  • 3 pastured eggs
  • 1/4 cup raw milk
  • 1 tsp. freshly ground corriander
  • 1 tsp. cumin
  • 1/2 roll phyllo dough
  • Sea salt & pepper to taste

P1010188

Order of Operations (sense the math dork in me?):

  • Toss chopped vegetables in olive oil, sprinkle with salt & pepper
  • Roast vegetables on baking sheet in 425 degree oven until edges are lightly crisp, set aside
  • Grease cupcake pan with olive oil
  • Lightly brush phyllo dough with olive oil and press into cupcake pan
  • Bake dough until edges are lightly golden
  • Fill dough cups (still in cupcake pan) with roasted veggies
  • In a food processer, puree goat cheese, eggs, milk, corriander, cumin and salt
  • Poor mixture over vegetables
  • Bake for 20 minutes (until custard is set) at lowered temperature of 350 degrees
  • Let set in pan for 10 minutes
  • Let cool on wire rack for 5 minutes

P1010199

These were a huge hit. I can’t believe how easy they were (or how quickly they disappeared).

A few accidents turned out to be a definite yum!

This entry was posted in Tastes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Accidentally Awesome

  1. Toni says:

    my gosh these look so good! Thanks for sharing, I will have to try this soon! Yum! 🙂

  2. Mom says:

    And here I sit, with only a stale bran muffin for company 😦

  3. madambass says:

    hi

  4. These look great! Perfect finger foods for a party.

  5. Hannah says:

    Ooh, so cute! I’ve never worked with filo before, but throw mushrooms, cauliflower and goat cheese into the mix and I’m in 🙂

    • Teresa says:

      I hadn’t worked with phyllo before either but it was pretty easy – thank goodness, or I might have given up and just eaten the roasted veggies off the baking sheet instead 😉

Leave a Reply

