I Didn’t Even Faint!

That’s right. I’m proud of me. I signed all those papers in that huge stack at the escrow company without fainting. I am (almost) an official homeowner.

Chris was a huge support. We did a final walk-through at the house with our agent before we were off to the title company. I thought I’d faint somewhere toward the end of the walk-through, knowing that we’d be heading off to the title company any moment to make it real.

As we were walking into the title company office, I felt funny, like I was playing hooky from work (only a few doors down). But that wasn’t it…I’d taken today off. I think it was just my mind playing tricks on me…you know, saying you’d rather be anywhere but here, even at work! Run! RUN!!!

When the nice escrow agent came out to shake our hands, I felt for sure that if I was going to faint, this would be the moment. But I didn’t. I pulled through and we dove into that stack of papers.

Then, I was afraid I’d faint out of pure boredom. Seriously, can’t some of those papers you have to sign to buy a house fill more than one purpose? Does every entity/person/office/agency really need its own original copy?? This is a great example of working harder, not smarter.

We’re expecting official possession tomorrow afternoon. Yes, you read right, we still don’t have the keys. The selling agent is being a major stickler.

Until tomorrow afternoon, we’re celebrating with some good friends. And trying not to faint. 😉

This entry was posted in Treasures, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I Didn’t Even Faint!

  1. Khalil says:

    Congratulations! Welcome to mortgage payments, more work, and some serious ass responsibility. It’s a good thing, most of the time.

  2. Hannah says:

    Congratulations!! So exciting and, yes, a little terrifying, but as someone with no possibility of buying a house any time soon…. enjoy the feeling of amazingness, Teresa! 😀 Also, if you do faint? Make sure you do it in the style of a 19th century pper class lady, hand on forehead and all 😉

  3. Pingback: We bought a house on a corner! « Our Corner House

  4. Pingback: Dear Teen Teresa | Teresa Tastes & Travels

Leave a Reply

